Labor Days in the Life

Apparently the ‘Abstinence Only’ approach didn’t take here. My own mother was 18 and in high school when I was conceived, so I certainly have no judgement to make regarding teen pregnancy. However, I do think that the ‘Abstinence Only’ apprioach to sex education in Public Schools is a complete failure. There are reasons that ‘Abstinence Only’ programs have been failing, and this news only underscores the pointlessness of telling human beings to ‘just say no’ to their biological urges. Of course, this just raises more awkward questions about McCain’s VP pick, but there were already plenty of those. Expect to see an outpouring of compassionate understanding from people who just moments earlier were condemning women with out-of-wedlock pregnancies. It is amazing how these folks can turn on a dime. Orwell saw that the totalitarian mind must be flexible enough to praise what it just condemned and to believe the new truth as quickly as possible, and the American Right Wing excels at this process.

In other news, here are some links regarding the police oppression of free speech occuring at the RNC. Watch this video.
Read this.
Read this and look at the pictures of the FBI agents collaborating with local police.
Ask yourself what kind of country you live in when the police can surround your house with guns drawn and tell you that you have to stay inside until they get a warrant. Ask yourself why the government is infiltrating Vegans instead of the Phineas Priests or other Christian Identity movements that are actually doing violence to American citizens.

In other news, I lost a filling or chipped a molar or something and it’s driving me crazy. Since it’s Labor Day, I simply must endure it and will instead just complain to you about it. I finished several paintings this weekend and am very pleased with how they’ve turned out. More later.

And it’s later. A few years ago I started filling my sketchbook with designs for Tarot cards. I’ve been fascinated by the Tarot since I read Jung and what he had to say about archetypes (obviously, I was aware of them before but thought them no more relevant than an Ouija board). I don’t believe the cards or magic or anything like that, but rather that they are an excellent tool for introspection and self-analysis. I have an old friend who does readings, and he gave me a particularly excellent one several years ago that gave me a lot to think about. On one of my birthdays, Lara gave me one of my favorite presents ever; The World. She slipped the card into a book she had given me. The first painting I did for this series is ‘The World’. I have no idea how many years it will take me to finish an entire deck, but I am immensely satisfied with this one.

4 Responses to “Labor Days in the Life”

  1. I generally agree with the guardian –

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/sep/02/palin.uselections2008

    on this point – it speculation on daily kos about Palins 5th child being her grandson was very unsavory and whilst it is faintly amusing at first to point the finger at the silly neocons – it is the life of a 17 year old girl being subject to intense media speculation. it’s just not very nice. I don’t think it will harm campaigning at all for the republicans at all. There may be an element of hypocrisy in that, but that aside, i hope Bristol has a trouble free pregnancy, a swift and relatively painless delivery and a happy and long lasting arranged marriage.

    whilst on that topic – this is more important than your silly little election.

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/sep/01/pakistan

    but nothing will be done. it’s ok. it’s only women – or cultural or something.

    hope your tooth is OK, happy Labo(u)r day, all. xx

  2. rats, i was sure i replied to this early – about how unsavoury the whole thing is – from the pre-stories on Daily Kos about how Palins youngest child wasn’t hers, but her daughters – how people were criticising her for flying whilst leaking amniotic fluid and returning to work a few days after the birth of her son – no matter what she did, I guess there would be criticism. I copmpletely appreciate the question of the lack of choice for this young woman – how her parents believe contraception stops and starts with the word no, but i dislike people using her daughters pregnancy for their own (political or ‘told you do’ ends’. I hope she has a healthy and happy pregnancy, a swift labour and a fruitful arranged marriage.

    speaking of which: –

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/sep/01/pakistan

    – stuff your silly little election – this is at least as important, but can easily be explained away by ‘cultural differences’ as, after all, it’s only women. Are there talks of sanctions, or intervention, or wars against misogyny? this makes me very very sad.

  3. You did post to this but the spam filter snagged you because you had two links in the comment. I unsnagged you! I agree with you about the tasteless way people are behaving, and was planning to write a post about this so will be brief here as to avoid being redundant.
    What happened in Pakistan is monstrously uncivilized.

    ‘Rainy Night in Soho’ just came on. 😉

  4. oh i hate when i duplicate myself. 😦 and the snagging was nippy. 😉

Leave a comment