Shit, Piss, Fuck, Cunt, Cocksucker, Motherfucker, Tits

I’m listening to ‘Occupation: Foole’ right now. I just finished ‘Class Clown’ before that. He’s doing ‘When Grass Swept the Neighborhood’ now, and he starts it with a little observation. ‘I’m 35 right now, which is great when the whole country seems like it’s 18 and 50. It gives me reach on both sides.’ When I first heard that line I was probably 15 or 16 and I didn’t get it the way I do now. Carlin wasn’t a Boomer or of the Greatest Generation; his cohort is ironically enough in his case, the Silent Generation. My life was immeasurably enriched by his voice. 

From my speaker comes his voice from a March night in 1973. He’s doing a bit he calls ‘Filthy Words’ where he plays with the sounds and the notions of profanity. When this album is played on a radio station in October of 1973 the resulting furor over this particular track would result in the Supreme Court ruling that the FCC has the authority to prohibit broadcast of programs it considers indecent. Right now he is riffing on the word ‘fuck’ in various permutations. He says, “it sounds like a proud word. Who are you?” and then in this deep dramatic boom he intones, “I.. am… Fuck!” And there’s a hard laugh that he lets live for a moment and he adds, “of the Mountain!” Huge laugh. Then in his impeccable announcer tones he blurts, “Tune in next week for ‘Fuck of the Mountain’!” and brings down the house. A few years ago I wrote a sketch which had a guy trying to pitch projects to Samuel L Jackson’s agent and the payoff was a sequel to ‘Pulp Fiction’ that followed Jules Winnfield as he ‘walked the Earth’ to Canada and his subsequent adventure as a mounted policeman fighting Yakuza in Vancouver. It was called ‘Motherfucker of the Mounties’. I stole that joke without even realizing it. Carlin is as much an influence on my writing as Shakespeare or Twain, and far greater than most others that I’ve read, and I’ve only really ever listened to him.   

There really isn’t a way to describe what kind of influence he was on me. I can’t tell you how many times I played his records throughout my life. His mastery of language was incomparable. His rhythms were perfect. I learned so much about timing from him. His brave compassion toward homosexuals and other despised people made him one of my earliest teachers of what humanism really is. His brave honesty is one of the standards I hold myself to when I think I should hold my tongue. I don’t have any idols but I suppose he was one of my heroes. He taught me that we have power over words, not the other way around.

It is easy to make people scared or angry or sad. Barely literate demagogues do it every day. It’s easy to mock the lowly and the different. Pandering hacks make brilliant careers of it. Making people laugh at themselves and their sacred cows is difficult and often thankless work but it is of far deeper benefit to us all than any of the easy things. George Carlin made it look easy. I will miss his voice.

4 Responses to “Shit, Piss, Fuck, Cunt, Cocksucker, Motherfucker, Tits”

  1. Nicely done. The world is a better place for his presence in it. I especially liked your comment about how he taught us that we have mastery over words and not the other way around. Thinking of you, him and the day when each seminary class realizes they won’t be expelled for cursing in the halls make me smile!

  2. The Prof Says:

    Indeed…we’ve lost a great destroyer of myths and social platitudes.

    I think the mantle now falls upon one of his many mentees, Lewis Black. Different approach–being overwhelmed and/or driven batshit crazy by the world instead of setting fires and laughing as they burn, but the end result is the same.

  3. Gentlemen,
    Thank you. I like Lewis Black, but he’s never going to be arrested for public obscenity or have to defend any of his bits to a judge. Carlin (and Lenny Bruce, and to a lesser extent, Bill Hicks) made it possible for Lewis Black to do his thing (as well as the multitude of hacks who rely on profanity and gross-out for their popular appeal.) and in doing so challenged authority in a way that hadn’t been done in such a popular way. When Bruce did his thing he was on front of nightclub audiences. When Carlin was doing the ‘Fuck of the Mountain’ bit I described above he was on a rotaing stage surrounded by over 3,700 people (the Circle Star Theater) and at the end of the bit he is handed a message informing him that he just won a Grammy for his album of the previous year. He was popular in a way that Black never could be because he was bringing the uncensored voices of an America that truly was until then something of a Silent Majority into the popular culture which hadn’t been in such a way since Twain. Honest and poetic as it could be crude and cruelly funny. It is not disparagement of Black to say that he is cut from the same cloth as Carlin, but I belive that’s why he really never could wear the true mantle. If it’s anybody, it’s John Stewart. Stewart speaks truth to power and is such a good comedian that he gets away with it every night. Black is certainly part of that, but Stewart makes the real medicine go down with a lot wider group of people. Black preaches to the choir, Stewart gets people to convert.
    Kenny, I think Jesus had to have been incredibly witty with a fabulous sense of humor. Dry and boring people do not get nailed to trees for the things they say.
    Unlimited love,
    Winston

  4. The Prof Says:

    Sir Winston,

    I have the utmost respect for Jon Stewart and what he does (he and Colbert have become the Fourth Estate, a crown bestowed on them after Colbert ripped on the President and the press while standing just a few feet from them–something that, admittedly, Black didn’t even dare to do when he had the chance), yet there are still places he won’t go that Carlin would. (Carlin is still, and ever shall be, my favorite public sociopath.)

    Man…we need more seekers of the unvarnished truth, since we appear to be losing all our good ones.

Leave a comment