Land of the Free, Home of the Brave.

This is freedom, right here.

If the principle of punctuated equilibrium could be applied to social development this past week would be a prime example of it.

That was the sentence I wrote Friday morning shortly after the announcement of the Supreme Court verdict regarding marriage. Then I had to run out to finish packing up the old place; this move has been a mix of dreadful and joyful. I love everything about my new place so much but have had to pay considerable penance in trade; still, it’s worth it. Tonight I stretched across the lawn with the boy across my belly watching the sunset waiting for Mama to come home from work. Bliss.

So, Friday…

While I worked I listened to President Obama give his eulogy for Reverend Clementa Pinckney; I was moved, and when he sang ‘Amazing Grace’ I wept.

It’s been such a great week for liberals what with the Confederate Flag suddenly out of style and the rainbow flag in. And Obamacare being reaffirmed once again. Fabulous.

Except for why President Obama had to give the best speech of his public life.
And for the black churches that have been burning.

There is a lot of heated rhetoric and paranoia to be found all around and I do not want to add to it. I’m just calling it the way I see it. White nationalists are waging a terrorist war against America from within. They’re organized while remaining loosely confederated; they are training and learning patience.

I have much more to say on the subject but it’s late and I want to post this now.

Leave a Reply

