Take a Bow, Rest in Peace #JeanStapleton

She was amazing. I saw her do ‘Arsenic & Old Lace’ at the Blackstone when I was in college in 87 or 88 and one of the overhead lights fell during the performance and smashed a chair she had been sitting in seconds earlier; the audience and other actors jumped but she didn’t flinch and carried on as if nothing had happened. I got to talk to her after the show and she was so funny and gracious it took my breath away. I had met Jello Biafra a few weeks earlier and he was a self-absorbed ass of insufferable pomposity; Edith Bunker was so much cooler than the lead singer of the Dead Kennedys and she was my Grammas age. It is difficult to say how much my brief meeting with her impacted on my life, but believe me, it was significant. RIP, dear lady.

2 Responses to “Take a Bow, Rest in Peace #JeanStapleton”

  1. I always thought that she was seriously underrated. It took a lot to pull off Edith and not have her be a throw-away characterization.

  2. People don’t realize how smart an actor has to be to play ‘stupid’ convincingly; it also requires a sense of deep compassion, and she had both of these qualities in spades.

Leave a Reply

