It’s partly the fault of my PS3.

I bought myself a PS3 for Christmas. It’s the 160gb model. I’ve loaded it up with tv shows I have been meaning to watch but mostly I’ve been playing games on it. I’m outright addicted to ‘Oblivion’ (which is a very apt name for a video game) and I really enjoy ‘Civilization’ on the console even after having played the pc version for years.

I’ve also been drawing a lot. I mean, I always draw a lot, but I’ve been drawing a lot. Sadly, none of my antique scanners will talk to my newfangled laptop.

I liked this essay by Patton Oswalt.

When I’m very busy with work I find that I read a lot of books; I think it’s the best kind of mental recharge that can be had in brief snatches. I read ‘A Clockwork Orange’, ‘20,000 Leagues Under the Sea’, ‘The Abyss’, ‘The Odyssey’, and a bunch of Shakespeare in the week before Christmas. I reread ‘Gatsby’ the week before that as well as some others.  I was impressed by how fresh and smart Verne remains and it led me to reread ‘The Odyssey’ and Orson Scott Card’s novelization of ‘The Abyss’, which seemed dated and cheesy after the Verne and Homer, which is weird because it’s the one that’s barely 20 years old.

What are you folks reading these days?

3 Responses to “It’s partly the fault of my PS3.”

  1. Cookbooks by the truckload. And a book called The Book of Qualities by Ruth Gendler. I recommend it. Quick read but so lovely.

  2. St. Lucy’s Home For Girls Raised By Wolves, by Karen Russell: weird, magical, wistfully unsettling short stories. Perfect and beautiful, reminiscent of Angela Carter.

    And Kevin Brockmeier’s Things That Fall From The Sky (also short stories–God bless American magical realism).

  3. I love short stories. I will check those out.

Leave a Reply

