The Long Strange Trip of Cordelia E Meadows

Turns out she prefers to be called Cordelia these days and regards those sort of things as fluid now anyways; she has understanding of patterns and people like few I have met. Her story is hers to tell but it is an epic for our times that is far from finished; without irony or exaggeration I can say that I laughed, I cried and it became a part of me. I have spent the past day and a half processing the eight hours we spent talking, unfolding pain and joy as I understand long ago events for the first time and wonder at this glorious person who has re-entered my life.

She arrived before six. I went outside to meet her and she parked and when she got out of the car she was clearly a woman but she hadn’t really changed. We just started talking. I had spent the day cleaning and had never made it out to the store, so I asked if she liked sushi and she said yes and we got back to talking. I grabbed the menu several times but by the time I actually called them it was four hours later and they were closed. So we ordered a pizza. But we kept talking until well after one thirty in the morning. I want to talk to her more; I forgot how much I enjoyed just talking to her and how we always had such great conversations to begin with and now when we have so much to say to each other it is just amazing.

We talked about you, Lily. You will be so proud of her. I know I am. We talked about you, too, Kenny. I told her about my epiphany in Rome and some of my crazy adventure with Dahlia. We talked about our current relationships a lot; I was struck by how many parallels there are between us and around us and through us. We have a tremendous amount in common. I want to see her paintings and read her stuff and meet her kids and her girlfriend. I love my lesbian sister so very, very much; I get butterflies in my stomach and delight in my eyes when I think of her and can ‘t wait to see her again.

One Response to “The Long Strange Trip of Cordelia E Meadows”

  1. What a lovely tribute to someone who you so obviously adore.

Leave a Reply

