Whatever you want.

I had a sinus infection, which is really fun. It’s done wonders for my mood. Which means I shouldn’t read the news, but I did. Mistakes happen. Over the years I have tried to be less furious and more Buddha, and I feel better for it. But Glenn Beck is really harshing my mellow. I’m generally annoyed with how his fans have confused the meaning of ‘historian’ and ‘histrionics‘, but that’s nothing new. He excels at forcing Godwin’s Law to take a holiday by shoving the SS glove in your face and then wrapping himself in the cloak of MLK and the Founding Fathers. Now, his delusional ranting can be funny, but there’s a lot more to it than is apparent to the eye. Also, he’s a novelist. Speaking of lunatics and literature, I had no idea that white supremacists loved ‘Lord of the Rings‘, but I guess since their beliefs are based on pure fantasy it makes a lot of sense.

Here’s another one of those ‘what’s really the difference between the left and right in America?‘ kind of deals. I wonder how many death threats Jesse Helms or Strom Thurmond received? It’s funny, I was just sort of throwing this together when I noticed that headline and it is a perfect example of whatever non-point I was trying to not make. I guess mostly I’m pointing at conservatives and laughing at them.

To be fair, Democrats can behave badly, too.

Anyway, speaking of beliefs based on pure fantasy, the Tea Party is against garbage pickup. And you thought Democrats were politically naive.

Meanwhile, an awesome question from Trill. Unlike every other smartass around, I have no idea as to what to actually do to stop the oil pouring into the Gulf. I do know, however, that it’s not going to stop by itself. While the President cannot be blamed for the disaster history will note the buck stopped with him whether it was ever in his hands or not. That’s part of the joy of the office of the President: you become responsible for things you never imagined could be your fault.

One Response to “Whatever you want.”

  1. Omigawd. The government is trying to infiltrate our brains with this whole conspiracy of trash pickup. What will they do with the trash? Will they store it so that they can use it against us someday? Will they sift through it to see what our political views are so that they can ship us off to camps? It’s the apocalypse. Truly.

    Oh, and Beck is a dorkfish.

Leave a Reply

