Saturday Night Liveblog

There is totally a wizard and his pet yeti riding a unicorn just behind that hill.
Bill Hicks lived on locusts and honey; he preached in the wild and terrified hypocrites. The first time I heard him I had dropped out of college, married my high school sweetheart, and discovered the joys of music retail. It was a Sunday morning and I was doing the accounting for the week in tiny accounting office in back, wreathed in smoke, soaked in coffee and bored to shit. One of the chores that junior managers were stuck with was doing the bookwork for the week and putting together the deposits and reports for the corporate office. So there I was, living out my dreams of doing math on a weekend and feeling completely crushed when I found a cassette in the promo pile that had no artwork on it but just the words ‘Bill Hicks: Relentless’ on it. I played it and it killed me. I played it for the rest of my shift. I took it home and played it for Persi. I played it for Wulf. I played it for Miss Mayweather and every good friend I’ve had over the past two decades. I have few regrets in my life but one of them is that I never got to see him live. It doesn’t matter. He changed my life. I’m listening to it on the laptop tonight, and I’m still laughing.

Last week 60 Minutes did an interview with the last man on the Deepwater Horizon. I think Sarah Palin and Rand Paul should watch it before they tweet off their respective media orifices about BP and environmentalists.

Okay, right here is why I think ‘hate crime’ laws are a problem. The man who shot another man and then dragged his corpse with his car for nine miles hated the other man, obviously. I don’t understand the significance of the opinions of the killer have to do with the charges other than in determining the degree. While these laws do make sense for petty crimes such as graffiti (painting swastikas on tombstones is different than tagging nicknames on buses) or vandalism (a brick through a synagogue window is not the same as letting the air out of a school bus tire.)

Wow, great post from Poietes about the crazy in Arizona. That we have reached such an abysmal state of affairs is not surprising but it is depressing. To be so filled with hate that the face of a child triggers a spasms of rage that compels outburst of obscenities is terrifying. Here’s the original post.

Okay, sometimes life is like is like a movie. A very, very bad movie that will make you want a shower afterwards.

We’ve had some crazy weather tonight. Hope everyone’s okay.

8 Responses to “Saturday Night Liveblog”

  1. Hey thanks for the props. Isn’t the whole story about the mural just insane?

  2. It has all of the rationality and consistent logic that I have come to expect from people frothing over with racist madness. I can’t understand how screaming obscenities at the image of a child on a school makes anyone feel good; that the faces are of actual children in the school makes this an obscenely unacceptable intrusion of adult political bullying into the lives of individual children. It is so ugly as to be sickening, but more importantly it is a warning of how hot the kettle has become. That we will reach a boiling point seems tragically inevitable.
    I like your blog! It’s neato…

  3. I would be interested in hearing more about your issues with hate crimes legislation. As I understand the motivation for the legislation, it is to give the legal system the option to impose more severe pumishment for crimes that are deemed “hate” motivated. The thought being that in the case of a real hate crime the victim doesn’t suffer equally, but rather extra. Worse, other people in the community suffer disparately if they think there’s an increased chance of being targeted for whatever attribute is the object of hate. (ex; the rural Gay community in the Matthew Shepard case) So its not so much that the perpetrator’s opinion is the problem but in actuality it is his/her motivation in choosing the victim and/or the crime that is the concern. Lynching for instance has a long history of racial violence or rape in the case of women and girls.

  4. In the example of lynching the entire community participated in the murder; it’s always illegal to murder someone, but the laws weren’t being enforced by anyone. What happened to Matthew Shepard was a capital crime regardless of his sexuality, race, or creed. Much of our law is based on precedents, and I am unsettled by the precedents that are set by laws that single out minority groups even if they are ‘benevolent’ in nature.

    I promise to pick this up tomorrow. I’m exhausted tonight.
    :/

    • In some cases it can provide federal jurisdiction when needed… let’s say that a group of white people beat up a Hispanic person while yelling racial epitaphs & we’re in rural Arizona. A jury of 10-12 peers may tend to be lenient with all this anti-Latino immigration fervor occurring in the community. The attitude may well be “this is what happens when you let in all these mexicans to take our jobs” and they may decide to make it a significant mitigating factor. I think there is a difference when a crime is committed to send a message to the community and justice within that community cannot always be served.

      • Okay, that’s absolutely the best argument I’ve heard for hate crime laws. Could we do something about their name, though? It’s way too Orwellian for me…

  5. “living out my dreams of doing math on a weekend” I will be giggling over this sentence all day! Keep writing, Winston! xoxoxoxo

  6. Winston I’d have absolutely no problem labeling it an act of terrorism!

Leave a Reply

