Rahm Emanuel is a Jerk

Not  cool. While I don’t agree with Sarah Palin that he should resign, I do agree with her that it is long past time to not accept disrespect towards people with disabilities. It is difficult to describe how my feelings for a person chill when I hear that word come out of their mouths as a casual slur. It really sticks in my craw that I have to agree with her.

8 Responses to “Rahm Emanuel is a Jerk”

  1. Retarded – a person who is stupid, obtuse, or ineffective in some way: a hopeless social retard. (websters)

    Then we should also not use idiot, dummy or imbecile and please do not use vegetable or plant ro refer to someone. All of these words have been used to describe those among us with mental disability. I guess I wonder where we draw the line? When should we worry and throw more press at things that have substance and really impact the lives of those with disabilities? Making one guy apologize for using the word retarded….which also has other meanings that could apply – noun. a slowing down, diminution, or hindrance, as in a machine – seems a bit petty and short sighted.

    And as for Sarah Palin – regardless of what drivel comes out of her mouth – she is one of the worst users of the handipcapped for personal gain I have ever seen. I would prefer to ask her to resign from the human race for putting her child in a dog and pony show to prove what a good mama she is for loving her disabled child. Makes me sick.

    Good morning. 🙂

  2. Lara,
    Then I guess calling you a fucking retard would be completely appropriate and wouldn’t sound filthy coming from my lips; it wouldn’t hurt or make you wince. If that is the case, then I am sorry, for I shudder at the thought of doing so. I cannot be as cool and dispassionate as you in this; I lack your remove. So we shall agree to disagree and speak of this no more.
    Much love,
    Winston

  3. Lara-
    Okay, I’m kind of a jerk, too, for being so flip in the above response; but I’ve got some writing to do for the Clown Factory yet tonight and I just got home and I’m cranky. And I am touchy about this issue. And listening to one of the smartest lefties I know try to explain why it’s no big deal for Rahm Emmanuel to drop the R-word is like listening to Bill O’Reilley explaining why it’s okay for Rush Limbaugh to play ‘Barack the Magic Negro’ or whatever; it kind of angries up the blood.
    The entry from Websters you quote isn’t complete. Here it is in full”
    4. Slang: Disparaging.
    a. a mentally retarded person.
    b. a person who is stupid, obtuse, or ineffective in some way: a hopeless social retard.’

    Is ‘Disparaging Slang’ for a mentally retarded person not as big a deal as ‘disparaging slang’ for a Jewish person, or a person of color? What about ‘disparaging slang’ for women? How do you feel about that? What if Karl Rove had used ‘disparaging slang’ about Log Cabin Republicans? Do you think Keith Obermann would have gotten worked up into a good sanctimonious froth over that?

    Retarded people would like the rest of us to not use that term as an insult. It boggles my mind that it is so difficult for people to get that. It is a no-brainer. The use of that word as a casual insult is the cause of emotional pain to people who already have more of it in their lives than many of us could bear.

    Palin is everything you say she is but a stopped clock is still right twice a day.

  4. hi you!

    I don’t believe that I said calling people names is not nice. I try not to call people names but I do occasionally slip and then have to apologize. You occasionally can be a bombastic ass. (but a charming one at that)

    What I am pointing at is…is this the best place to put all this energy? Is trying to make people stop using the word “retard” or “gay” or or or the best way to educate people about tolerance and teach compassion? I think it instead puts them on the defensive and makes all this prejudice or ignorance go underground.

    I participated in a group teaching session that tried to get all of us to agree to never use the word bitch, fag, etc again. We actually were supposed to write one of these words on a piece of paper and tear it up as a symbol. But here is the thing…all different groups in the room refused. The point was that the words are not the problem – it is the culture that believes oppression is ok. Attacking the words just makes for a useless apology that never achieves anything. That is my concern.

    Asses are just asses….but why give them so much air time when there are very serious issues that will actually have some impact on the nature of oppression iteself?

    I knew that this would a flash point with you. You have a huge heart.

    And my dear, you have called me a variety of names at certain points in our long relationship- some endearing some not as much 😉 I look past the words at the underlying context and emotion and thats what I pay attention too.

  5. We must hold ourselves to a higher standard than Rush Limbaugh or there is no point in having standards.

  6. winston – that is not that difficult. I walk upright.

  7. […] Sarah Palin is… Sometimes I’m just at a loss for words. It’s not that I thought she wasn’t capable of saying it was fine for this specimen of humanity to use ‘retard’ in a derogatory way 40 times, or that she’s advocating attacking Iran for some apparent reason, or even that she confirmed her husband is a secessionist. No, it’s that she really undercut me in an argument I was having. […]

Leave a Reply

