Oh, how I’ve missed you, Constant Reader…

So, I’m back. The tale alone of the quest to reconnect my bad self to teh internets is full of sound, fury and many idiots and may actually form the basis of a storytelling bit so I think I’ll save that for the weekend; so much more has transpired during my absence than I can tell but what it has wrought in me remains to be seen though there is more silver in the temple than before. What I know about you is that you are loyal enough to keep coming back to the same old page with very little promise of anything to come and I thank you for that. I have much to be grateful for and not the least of it is you; I do not require a large audience but deeply appreciate an attentive one. Time spent with you is always fun.

And then there are the new people; they are always coming, the new people, and thank God for them. Jen, I know what it is to struggle with faith; this is the struggle we all have even when we don’t know we’re having it. I am glad that you enjoy my writing and I will encourage you to faith as best I can but I must be honest with you and tell you I have no answers, only ideas. What most people think of when they think of God is a being or much bigger and stronger than they are that has a definite plan for the universe. There are reasons for this; in Exodus 33, for example, Moses literally beholds the physical backside of God. Plenty of other traditions imply a literal physical entity and it just seems natural that we as physical beings imagine God to have some kind of tangibility. Eternity is outside of time; the perception of time passing from the past to the future is only a product of our perspective on reality; the progression of past to future is not necessary for physical law to function as it does. Think of your life as a book, a biography that you must trudge through word by word with no clue as to how many pages it is or how it will end. Your book cross references with all of the other books in the library of life that have ever or will ever be known by God. An enlightened being is aware of their own place in the library; to be enlightened is not to have secret knowledge or some privileged position but rather a point of view that allows for a clear perspective. This perspective allows us to see that what good there is in the world is worked by people just as the evil is wrought by humans; regardless of our form or station we are saints and sinners by choice but the circumstances in which we exist are entirely a matter of chance. The perspective of enlightenment bestows nothing but the responsibility of compassion for all other beings upon the enlightened one; the enlightened one is not omniscient but knows that the glass is dark indeed. There is no book or costume or building or ritual or path that leads to enlightenment; there is no guru, no method, no teacher that can take you there; you are closer to it than you imagine even if you never attain it. From my own perspective I see that I exist; I am in the moment of life between birth and death where I may act in the world. It seems to me that all of the other beings around me are expressions of the Divine; if I wish to find God I need only to look with compassion into the eyes of the nearest human being; if I wish to find meaning in my existence then I must be of meaningful service to others.

It’s good to be back with you. I will endeavor to serve you better in the future and apologize for any inconveniences caused by my absence. Much more soon.

7 Responses to “Oh, how I’ve missed you, Constant Reader…”

  1. Good to have you back! Can’t wait to hear the tales!!

    You know if it gets too cold for you there or you need a relaxing break, you are welcome to come visit… at the time of year this place can actually have delightful weather!

  2. Welcome back, O’ Furious One. We’ve missed you.

  3. I am now struggling with the term Friend. “Who is”, and “What is a Friend?” I am curious of your thoughts.

  4. Dear Buddha,

    You wrote “I know what it is to struggle with faith; this is the struggle we all have even when we don’t know we’re having it.”

    Savoring your clarity…

    R

  5. yay! missed you – in my oceanic way. 🙂 x x

  6. […] I can’t tell you but I know it’s mine. Jen wrote, ‘I am now struggling with the term Friend. “Who is”, and “What is a Friend?” I am curious of …‘ […]

Leave a Reply

