John Hughes Lied To Me (Don’t You Forget About Me)

RIP John Hughes.

His movies had an impact on me by default; being a Chicago teenager in the 80’s meant like feeling the pop culture world spun around you to begin with, but ‘Ferris Bueller’ came out the summer before my senior year of high school. I wasn’t a conscious fan of his films, but rather they are hard-wired into my awareness beyond ability like or dislike; they are as familiar as the locales they depict. So much so that at one point I wrote a screenplay called ‘John Hughes Lied to Me’ that was a bleak comedy about a guy getting divorced. The few people who read it hated the ending, but they all liked the title. I think ‘Planes, Trains, and Automobiles’ with it’s timeless simplicity and exquite artistry was his best film. I don’t know what kind of person he was but his movies had a certain kind of heart that most don’t. My condolences to his loved ones.

3 Responses to “John Hughes Lied To Me (Don’t You Forget About Me)”

  1. loved his films…still love them. Time to pull them all out. Thank you Mr. Hughes.

  2. Yeah, ’16 Candles’ was arguably racist, but it was still fun.

  3. While perhaps not really my favorite. I think “Some kind of Wonderful” may have been his best, although my memory is very cloudy so I may be WAY off… Like you, I was not really a big fan, (I think I saw “Ferris Bueller” first with you on VHS at a house in that hellhole we endured together. Oddly, Hughes makes me think more of college than High school…) but, his movies of course had an effect on me. I sort of feel sorry for those who came after us (like my child bride. Hey 7 years is a big difference in high school, not so much now, of course…) they were not really a part of a definable era. His was an incomplete and narrow voice, but it was ours.

Leave a Reply

