Perfect Days In The Life

Today was a good day to be toolin’ around in my Sox jersey. There’s something Zen about a game that is considered ‘perfect’ when nothing happens. How awesome is that?

The summer days have been a blur that has seen me outdoors more often than usual; I am drinking in the blue sky and warm weather. My health is excellent. My blood workup from a few weeks ago was excellent and my doctor is very happy with me. I’ve been away from the ‘puter but I’m still here. I’m sleepy, though….

The other afternoon I was listening to astronauts on NPR. At the same moment, this was the headline article at CNN. The anniversary of Apollo 11 passed complete with portents and eclipses. I take peculiar pride that I was in the womb when humans became a spacefaring species. I am one of the first humans who has always looked as the Moon not as an object of mystery but as a place to go. The image of Earth floating bright blue over a gray lifeless horizon is fundamental to my philosophical and theological worldview.

*yawn*.

5 Responses to “Perfect Days In The Life”

  1. Good night & sweet dreams! 🙂

  2. I always tell the story about me taking my first steps while my Mom was watching them take the first steps on the moon. I’ve always thought it was one of my famous “Never let the truth stand in the way of a good story” moments. But this weekend, I was talking to my aunt who verified the story. (She was there helping my Mom as my Dad was in Vietnam.)

    I think it is no coincidence that the environmental movement began and Vatican II happened during a time when we were working on getting people to the moon. I agree that the Earth rise over the Moon is one of the most powerful images around. I hope in my lifetime that we can see the Earth and the Moon rising on Mars.

    I’ll close as St. Francis closed his letters:
    Peace and Good,
    j

  3. The Prof Says:

    Speaking of perfection…

    The Daily Show. Spinal Tap. Tonight!

  4. hellooooooooooooooooooo………….?

  5. Hey. I’m alive and well. New post tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

