Lousy Smarch Weather…

But then, it’s Chicago, and besides, complaining about the weather is pointless. Busy day today. But I found myself with an hour where I had nothing to do but sit and think.

I’ve been reading Kierkegaard lately, and he’s speaking to me. I think I understand him, but I am glimpsing something in these pages that is surprisingly familiar. The Knights of Infinite Resignation and Faith make a kind of mad sense to me.

Gotta run.

10 Responses to “Lousy Smarch Weather…”

  1. Ok – if you get Kierkegaard I am in awe. My father has been studying the man for 20 years and still just picked up another primer on Saturday.

  2. Puh-lease. It’s just books. I find the best way to try to understand Soren is to try to understand myself. That’s who I am finding on the page, and it’s weird.

  3. yeah well…if you understand you…I am again…in awe. 😉

  4. Heh. It’s actually kind of discomfiting, like looking into a mirror and seeing the back of your own head.

  5. I have found that I understand myself better when I resign to myself.

    Many would say acceptance is key. Well, I might not accept … but I can resign to my own humanity… at times.

  6. The resignation could be viewed as forgiveness, or an acceptance of forgiveness. Understanding the difference between mercy and sacrifice is a step toward understanding the perspective of divinity, which is a way of understanding ourselves. Many of his views of the nature of our personal relationship to the divine have a familiar resonance to me. It is intriguing…

  7. See, now you incorporate the divine and then you lose me… the “divine” as it were has never deserved said accolade. I would rather not know myself through the belief of something outside myself. I do not trust that something else has my best interests at heart. I do not believe there is anything out there that cares for my well being except myself. The nature of humans is to cover their own ass. We fall in love and say and often act to support others… but in the end, far too often, we chose ourselves instead. This is not a put down by any means. I just believe that humans have an instinctual response to self preservation, and a majority of the time that basic instinct is what prevails. We have the capacity to overcome this primal reaction, and when we do that in itself is a divine act. Not because of some outside influence, but because we made a choice and found a moment of selflessness. Those moments should be highlighted and applauded.

  8. G-
    We are actually in closer agreement than you think. ‘Divine’ is a word laden with all kinds of possible meaning, and here I was using it to describe a perspective above my own, a perspective I know exists but is simply beyond the ability of my physical senses to perceive; it is the fifth through tenth dimensional point of view, if you will. The way you see humanity is not the only possible viewpoint; I have glimpsed myself as a ceramic sphere holding a wet mass of sparking chemical representations of the universe, a ragged string of gristly meat on a stick of bone twitching spastically across a muddy rock, a tangle of tubes and wires. There’s lots of very abstract ways to view the human condition that are all valid in their own way. That being said, there is also considerable evidence that there are biological components to both our selfishness and altruism; in any case, no individuals are completely selfish or completely altruistic. All of us are a mix of the two in some measure, and what that measure truly is cannot be known by anyone but ourselves and whatever extradimensional observers there may be. Whether or not the human race as a whole is predominantly altruistic or selfish is a subjective assessment that tells us more about the character of the individual making the observation than the species being observed. My own assessment is that individual human beings are full of surprises and the human race as a whole generally improves itself over time because it has an exceptional capacity for learning. Humanity is the only species known to have figured out how to pass the lessons learned by individuals of one generation on to the following ones using something other than DNA. Human beings have been to other worlds. Nothing divine intervened to make either of these accomplishments happen, nor does it seem to this individual human observer that anything from the divine perspective actually interferes with human development, but then, would we be able to tell if it had? In any case, my invocation of the divine was not an attempt at any metaphysical shennanigans. Is this at all lucid? It’s been a long day.
    -WD

  9. Metaphysical Shennanigans is my new favorite made-up band name. (Sorry to post something so inane in a thread about Kierkegaard.)

  10. Not inane. Funny…

Leave a Reply

