From the PA Bulletin

I can’t say I’m a fan of the ‘New Calvinism’, but then, I thought ‘Old Calvinism’ was a pointlessly stupid doctrine that led directly to misery. So. I guess I’m biased. But seriously, having read Cotton Mather’s ‘Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God’, I can’t imagine anyone wanting to sign up for that belief system.

Prof, I think you will get the same laugh out of this that I did.

Excellent question.

Legitimacy.

2 Responses to “From the PA Bulletin”

  1. Calvinism has a bad rep. Mostly because of guys like Cotton Mather. Calvinism is more about how God works and less about humanity. Predestination is not a central tenant of Calvin’s ideas, it is more of a result which was posited by other thinkers. Calvin created a very powerful God, which I like! More later. I’ve gotta get ready for class.

  2. The Prof Says:

    Oy.

    Re: the David Foster Wallace sentence-building…

    I may be guilty of a few of those transgressions myself. However, I believe it’s actually a little unfair to DFW and other writers who go beyond five-syllable sentences: Wallace rarely used adverbs, and detested them, and he would smack a student with a little sad-face emoticon when he/she used a bunch of adjectives rather than sensory detail. (This, I tell my own kiddies, is cheating.)

    Just a thought.

    Oh, and Aurora got a story accepted–first one in some time, since she hasn’t been sending stuff out much these last few years. Yay!

    wjj

Leave a Reply

