Enjoy the rest of your life, Jim D Adkisson.

Unitarian Church shooter pleads guilty without a hint of remorse. I’m a relativist who doesn’t believe in evil as a tangible thing; that is, I don’t think that there are objects that are evil or that a person can be inhabited by an evil spirit. That being said, there is evil in the world, and one of the places you can find it is in the smile of the Jim D. Adkisson. I cannot imagine the hell that exists within his skull.

4 Responses to “Enjoy the rest of your life, Jim D Adkisson.”

  1. I don’t understand how you can say evil is not a tangible thing but that there is evil in the world.

    The gates marked Arbeit Macht Frei are pretty tangible. Do you mean that there is no evil person only evil actions? How is this relativism?

    I’m really confused. But I do agree that it is a good thing that Adkisson is going to stay put away for his life.

  2. The gates are nothing but iron fashioned into a particular form by human hands. They have no intrinsic power, only the symbolic power human minds bestow upon them. Things are neutral and incapable of evil or good; at most they can be tools used toward either end, but they cannot actually embody these qualities.

    I’m a relativist because I maintain that evil is in the eye of the beholder, much like beauty or truth. For example, there are visitors to this site who likely feel an inspirational thrill when they see those gates even while you and I experience ominous dread or something even darker. Objects that are considered evil are just symbols and metaphors for human thoughts and actions. The evil that is in the world is what emerges from the human soul through our mouths and actions, nothing more. There’s nothing in the world that we can put into us that makes us evil, it was comes out of us that makes us evil.

    Ironically, it was a long ago argument with you (and the previous administration) that brought me around on relativism: I recall vehemently insisting that some cultures were ‘superior’ to others on the basis of practices and traditions I considered ‘evil’; you busted my illusions but good.

    Are you less confused? I’m at work now and am not sure if I’m being clear…
    -WD

  3. So it’s MY fault you are going to hell. 😉

    Seriously, I understand better. i was mostly challenging you to clarify your position. Which you did well.
    Side note: As I am writing this, iTunes Genius puts on “Gimme Shelter.”

    I’m not sure you (or I for that matter) are complete relativists. I think we agree that ultimate evil exists as a force in the universe. It is the opposite of or perhaps absence of ultimate good.

    you wrote:
    Objects that are considered evil are just symbols and metaphors for human thoughts and actions. The evil that is in the world is what emerges from the human soul through our mouths and actions, nothing more.

    I’m not sure I agree that evil is _entirely_ in the eye of the beholder. While the Gates at Auschwitz, are only iron, they are a reflection “a symbol” of ultimate evil. The person who looks at them, or at a picture of a Lynching Tree and thrills at the possibility of exterminating a group of people is participating in the evil that those symbols represent.

    Remember Plato’s Allegory of the Cave, for a representation of something to exist, there must be an absolute.

    Love, sister! It’s just a kiss away…..

    Pax,
    j

  4. We are not complete relativists because we have made choices regarding what we value and consider to be important. I am, however, enough of a relativist to reject certain Platonic ideas, namely, Platonic ideals. Absolutes create paradoxes that can only be resolved by cloaking the absolute in doubt.

    This is a very interesting discussion that I will pick up again soon. I am very busy at work today and have not been able to devote my focus to this properly. I have been thinking about these ideas quite a bit lately and want to elaborate on this…
    WD

Leave a Reply

