odds & sods (& thank you, Kenny)

Meet Blinky!

Marvel at the miracle metaphors of January 16, 2009.

Kenny, my mom was really touched by the card. Thank you.

What the former director of the Ohio Faith-Based and Community Initiatives Department us doing now. Because I love right wing zealotheads so much, I wanted to see what their take on it was, and I was not disappointed.

Then there’s the Calvinists. If only they understood what He meant when He said, ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice’. Of course, the article (and the Calvinists) pretend that the only ways to be a Christian are the ones they talk about, which is the problem that everyone seems to have with understanding the world; the frames we impose block our view and limit our perspective. The splinters and planks that make these frames are the beliefs and ‘isms’ we accept unthinkingly.

The basic tenets of Calvinism are insane from my point of view. Admittedly, the splinters and planks that make up my frame are beliefs and ‘isms’ like Darwinism and Zen, which contradict Calvinism completely. The concept of predestination is unacceptable to me because it is irrational and a blasphemy against the Holy Spirit. I am referring to the incident in Matthew 12: 22-37, specifically where Jesus speaks in 30-37:

 30“He who is not with me is against me, and he who does not gather with me scatters. 31And so I tell you, every sin and blasphemy will be forgiven men, but the blasphemy against the Spirit will not be forgiven. 32Anyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man will be forgiven, but anyone who speaks against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven, either in this age or in the age to come.

 33“Make a tree good and its fruit will be good, or make a tree bad and its fruit will be bad, for a tree is recognized by its fruit. 34You brood of vipers, how can you who are evil say anything good? For out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks. 35The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in him, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in him. 36But I tell you that men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken. 37For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned.”.  

If you think compassion is feminine and women are weak, then you don’t know what strength or love are. I tell you that it is harder to love your enemy than to scream threats of hellfire at him. Calvin is one of the wolves mentioned in Matthew 7:15.

I have to cut this short. I’m sure you’re disappointed.
;-D

WD

4 Responses to “odds & sods (& thank you, Kenny)”

  1. Calvin was only talking about eschatology and the sovereignty of God not soteriology when he was writing about predestination. He was not talking about who would or would not be saved. He was talking big picture, not individual salvation. Calvinists screwed up Calvin. We can discuss this more later, I’m eating lunch and dealing with a crisis. I’m glad your Mom appreciated the card.

    Peace, Kenny

  2. You shall know them by their fruits. And stuff like that. I would be interested to hear your undistracted thoughts, however. I hope the crisis went well. I hope you had a fire extinguisher on hand. 8-D

  3. or your “in case of war I’m the hostage” sign…

  4. and always remember, the more you squirm, the more interested they get.

    I’m so glad you caught that.

Leave a Reply

