facebook is like… guh

I love that all of my old friends that I haven’t seen in a jillion years are on Facebook. It’s just that it’s all very dazzling and confusing with the networking of the people. See… it’s like this. I set up a facebook so that I could play chess with Kenny… but then we never played because I never go there… I can barely keep up with my email. I still owe Dahlia a long letter from before the New Year.

Anyway. Facebook.

I logged in and had… well, it’s just overwhelming how many grown-ass adults are on f^%king Facebook first of all, and secondly, how many of them I know. I started clicking and just… it was dizzyingly weird. So many people that I haven’t seen in so long. I didn’t want to seem rude, but I couldn’t start writing to all of them because I only had a few minutes to be futzing around over there… and every time I clicked one, a dozen other faces and circles of friends of overlapping relationship…

Anyhow, it was kind of overstimulating.

So I tried to leave a message explaining my dilemma, but I guess you can only leave brief messages like, hey, I like Monty Python or whatever. And there’s just something creepy about it. I started seeing names that maybe, you know…  …so, I left a message directing people here.

Anyway, hi.

9 Responses to “facebook is like… guh”

  1. gah, i set up a facebook for work networking, hideous thing. 🙂

    don’t worry about the email (conversely, i feel neglected!) I’ll have another to send you when i’m back at work (have acute tonsilitis) so am spending couple of days finishing some artwork. 🙂

  2. I really like FB (that’s what the cool kids are calling it) It is a bit overwhelming, but it is a nice way to keep track of people and to be kept track of. If I think, ‘hmm, I wonder what Joe is up to these days’, I can just head over to his page and check in. It also serves the same function as a blog, ‘cept on FB, I’m not ‘Tinman’ or ‘Kenny’ everyone knows it is me.

    It certainly has its drawbacks but I have been able to rekindle old friendships and nurture new ones. I’ve also communicated more with my sister on FB than I ever have over the phone or by email. There are a lot of silly extraneous things that are a bit annoying, but the sense of community is terrific. Yes, I have drunk the Facebook Kool-aid.

  3. miss andi Says:

    Still laughing out loud or LOL.. but I didnt wish to torment you further….. if you were to give it a chance, it does get easier and is really nice to keep up with some fabulous people that you might not otherwise have the opportunity to do so! I have re-connected with some very old friends that I am so grateful to be able to just hang with on FB every now and then… That is what its all about! Submit! Its worth it!

  4. I guess I have a different view of Facebook, since so many of my freshman students are seemingly addicted to it–they literally are unable to pull their eyes away from their laptops when it’s on-screen. That, and I prefer to interact with actual people when possible.

    I tried the MySpace thing, and, well, it just wasn’t that interesting to me. I hear tell Facebook’s different…for now. We’ll see.

  5. just as a useless piece of trivia… the guy who “created” Facebook worked for Obama’s campaign and put together his scazzy internet campaign.
    My labor union just got on there because we couldn’t ignore the impact it has of reaching a lot of people in a network instantly and easily.

  6. ooops…. sNazzy

  7. I’m with the Prof-my main aversion to it is that it’s definitely a playground for the kids that adults have been tromping through. Plus, I feel stupid doing the whole ‘furious buddha’ thing there, but considering the nature of my day job it’s absolutely out of the question to do anything else. So there ya go.

  8. As one of those folks who hasn’t seen you in a million plus years, I was truly glad to finally find you on FB . Don’t worry, you don’t have to send me a novel. Heck,you don’t even have to send me the obligatory email! I’d be happy with a little note saying ‘beer’ once in a blue moon. As they say in Cali – s’all good. ( Did I ever mention how much I hate that saying?)

    Beer!
    Grimace

  9. BEER!!!!!!!!

    Damn, it is good to hear from you, sir. I’m checking in from work now, but you’ll hear from me later. Damn.

    BEER!!!!!!!

    Heh. Grimace. I just remembered the first time we met. Heh.

Leave a Reply

