stuff

Touch of the stomach flu cut this short.

He’s good enough, he’s smart enough, and doggone it, people like him. You know, I really liked ‘Rush Limbaugh is a Big Fat Idiot’, but the idea that he’s a senator is just surreal.  This must be another one of those ‘course corrections‘ Miss Mayweather has been talking about. Less than a decade ago conservative thinkers were saying irony was dead and now it’s suddenly the age where political satirists are politicians. I never knew why anyone would say that about irony; it’s like they didn’t understand how irony works. .

I’m listening to Mahler’s arrangement of Beethoven’s 9th. The 9th is one of my favorite pieces of music (I vividly recall the moment I was listening to the CSO perform the fourth movement and was seized with the sudden conviction God had been humming the ‘Ode to Joy’ while scultpting humanity) and I have several different recordings and interpretations of it. I recently discovered Furtwangler and am going to find his recordings.

Fillup Munkee is well on his way to becoming the cultural icon he deserves to be. Nice work, Boo.

Eddie Izzard is cooler than a Yeti.

3 Responses to “stuff”

  1. Sir Winston,

    Do feel better.

    And you are correct: the 9th by good old Ludwig Van is, perhaps, the greatest thing ever heard by the human ear–if you were going to send the space aliens just one piece of music, it’d be that. (One of my finder memories in recent years was seeing it with y’all at Ravinia a while back.)

    May I also recommend any one of many versions of Mozart’s “The Marriage of Figaro”–not as grand as the 9th, but nonetheless brilliant. Like clockwork, really.

    Now, must finish story about zombies, because I really do feel there ought to be more.

  2. Hear hear on the Mozart!! (ok I’m biased since I’m working on my 2nd little aria from that opera)
    (ok I’m a LOT biased since I saw it at THE Met last year, LOL!) However, I do know tha Winston is definitely a Beethoven man… a good soundtrack for him.

  3. I saw ‘Figaro’ at the Lyric a few years ago and it was great. It is to opera what ‘Hamlet’ is to tragedy and the 9th is to symphony… it is an exceptional example that embodies the essential qualities of it’s particular art form.

    Zombies rule.

Leave a Reply

