This is why we say your beliefs are regressive and backward.

Dennis Prager loses his tiny little mind.

I’m at the Isabella’s with Mayweathers. The drive out was surreal; fog, rain, melting snow mixing to create a landscape that could only be described as ‘ethereal’, which is exactly how Miss Mayweather described it. She’s been splendid with the adjectives today; she just described the Isabellas new table as ‘Norse’ which nails it perfectly. The men are discussing the finer points of the rules of Superbattlescrabbleship, the offical board game of Port Awesome (we’re still inventing it). Lesbian flag football is our offical sport, incidentally. The ladies are discussing wine; Miss Mayweather demontrated her new decanter with a bottle of Encyclopedia she bought today. The bottle is shaped like a beaker as is the decanter and it looked like she was doing science with booze. We’re going to have tacos in a little while. Tacos rule. On the ride Miss Mayweather asked me if I had seen the Prager ‘essay’, and I said that I hadn’t, and so when we got here she showed it to me.

After Scrabble and a couple of decanted bottles of wine later Miss Mayweather and Miss Isabella staged a mini-intervention with me regarding Julia. They didn’t tell me anything I wasn’t already thinking about but it was good to have people I love show concern over my life choices, even if they’re drunk. I’m looking at forty coming up fast and am acutely aware that my relationship with Julia is an expression of some sort of mid-life crisis on my part. I reread the ‘Watchmen’ the other day (how ’bout that court case? Great take on it here.) and I understood how Dr Manhattan felt when he kept going through the motions even though he knew what would happen next; a longing for the unexpected is what attracted me to Julia in the first place but all of the surprises have evaporated.

I don’t think I’m a bad person or that I’m toxic or a user. I like to flatter myself and hope that people who interact with me are a little better off for it, or at the least haven’t had any harm befall them. Nobody has ever taken out a restraining order on me or accused me of anything particularly perfidious. I’ve done plenty of things that I’m not proud of, I’ve been petty, thoughtless, self-absorbed, and plenty of other unpleasant human traits. I have failings. I have a string of ex-girlfriends and one ex-wife, all of whom are living much happier lives without me as their romantic object or significant other. That’s not self-pity, it’s an observation, and I should also note that I’m much happier without any of them either. Well, there are a couple that don’t quite fit into that category, but they are very special and in any case their friendship is more important to me than their kisses.

I’m actually a pretty manly guy once you get past the poetry and painting. I have no problem bonding with males and enjoying the company of men; though I am still somewhat surprised when a particularly alpha male decides to confess their inner turmoil to me I have discovered that I am enough of a shaman to counsel a hunter. That being said, my closest confidants have almost always been women.

Perhaps this is why I find Dennis Prager’s words so stomach-churningly offensive against humanity; he not only regards women as receptacles for his lust, but degrades men as slaves to their bestial drives. Rape is an unspeakable offense against God and humanity. The submission Prager demands women make to his maleness isn’t any different from what fundamentalist Muslims are trying to accomplish when they throw acid on a woman who refuses them. It is exactly the same thing.

For quite some time now, conservatives have claimed the moral high ground with their pious hypocricies and self-serving judgements. I don’t claim the high ground for myself; I live on a prarie. But it is long past time to pull down the ramshackle scaffolding these babbling clowns have believed to be their Olympus, and certainly nobody who values their happiness should listen to their advice.

7 Responses to “This is why we say your beliefs are regressive and backward.”

  1. I missed an “inappropriate girlfriend” intervention on you?!?! Geeeez, now I really an homesick, LOL!! I hope you don’t get stubborn and dig your heels in for the wrong reasons!

    I wasn’t familiar with Prager until now, but in briefly reviewing some of his past essays, it does appear that he lost his tiny little mind some time ago already…

  2. A lovely bad 70’s tune for you. – Love, A

    Year of the Cat – Al Stewart & Peter Wood
    On a morning from a Bogart movie
    In a country where they turn back time
    You go strolling through the crowd like Peter Lorre
    Contemplating a crime

    She comes out of the sun in a silk dress running
    Like a watercolour in the rain
    Don’t bother asking for explanations
    She’ll just tell you that she came
    In the year of the cat

    She doesn’t give you time for questions
    As she locks up your arm in hers
    And you follow ’till your sense of which direction
    Completely disappears

    By the blue tiled walls near the market stalls
    There’s a hidden door she leads you to
    These days, she says, I feel my life
    Just like a river running through
    The year of the cat

    Well, she looks at you so cooly
    And her eyes shine like the moon in the sea
    She comes in incense and patchouli
    So you take her, to find what’s waiting inside
    The year of the cat

    Well, morning comes and you’re still with her
    And the bus and the tourists are gone
    And you’ve thrown away the choice and lost your ticket
    So you have to stay on

    But the drum-beat strains of the night remain
    In the rhythm of the new-born day
    You know sometime you’re bound to leave her
    But for now you’re going to stay
    In the year of the cat

  3. And just to redeem myself….

    It Is Here (For A) – Harold Pinter

    What sound was that?

    I turn away, into the shaking room.

    What was that sound that came in on the dark?
    What is the maze of light it leaves us in?
    What is this stance we take,
    to turn away and then turn back?
    What did we hear?

    It was the breath we took when we first met.

    Listen. It is here.

    1990

  4. Uhhhhh…

    Wow. Prager’s little essay is one of the worst cases of projection I’ve ever seen. That man needs to see a psychiatrist. Soon. And I deeply pity his poor wife.

    As for the other matter…having not met Julia I can make no pronouncements about her character. But she does sound interesting and cool. If she makes you happy (and you her), what’s the problem? Life’s too damned short. Of course, if mutual happiness isn’t there…time to move on.

  5. This may be my favorite comment thread of 2008. Lara managed to effectively quote Pinter and Al Stewart’s lisping breathy wisdom.

    Lily, it was a seriously classic moment. I wish you could have been there.

    Prof, I think Prager’s divorced, which should not be surprising to anyone. Regarding Julia, the way Miss Mayweather put it was that she’s not Eliza Doolittle and I’m not Professor Higgins. And I do have to agree with that assessment at least.

  6. Neo-Con-Jew Dennis Prager has been Keith Olbermann’s Worst Person in the World for claiming equality is not an American value and now this…oy mamaleh!

  7. He hasn’t been doing anyone any Mitzvahs lately, has he?
    But then, between Hamas and Madoff, it’s been a rough Chanukah for the tribe, rabbi. Thanks for visiting and happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

