No, really, calm down.

This is really getting out of hand.

We all have to live in this country together after the election. No, really, we do. I’m one of those people you think are un-American and a communist or whatever, and I would like to reassure you that I’m not. I’m not a babykiller or against families. The best part of my day yesterday was seeing my nephew who is also my godson. We have a real bond.

Everybody is very worked up. Not that long from now there will be a lot of folks who are going to be ashamed of how they have been behaving. In the meantime, however, we need to keep cool. Stealing lawn signs is bad. Shooting kids engaging in harmless vandalism is a whole other kind of bad. It’s the kind of bad that has long term repercussions.

It is understandable why very conservative Americans are so upset these days; after all, a black man from Chicago with the middle name ‘Hussein’ may well be elected President in less than a week with the added possibility of having a fillibuster-proof Senate on his hands. Not that long ago the conventional wisdom was that the Republicans would rule for a generation. Of course the conservatives are angry; they misgoverned so badly that a black guy from Chicago with the middle name ‘Hussein’ may well be the next President. Imagine what that sentence would have sounded like in 2002. What a difference a few years can make.

Miss Mayweather sent these to me. May they warm the cockles of your heart.

3 Responses to “No, really, calm down.”

  1. I am so excited about the election – that I CAN’T STAND IT!

  2. Thanks for the card, BTW. Hilarious.
    I watched Obama on Daily Show tonight. He was amazing. I’m really hoping that the title of my post next Wednesday is ‘Can You Feel The Brand New Day?’
    Miss you too.

  3. I have to admit I was a little verklempt at the end of Obama’s 1/2 hour commercial last night!!
    McPain’s campaign is getting uglier and uglier in his desperation here at the end. Among other states, I’d LOVE for him to lose his home state. We’re working on it out here!!!!!

Leave a Reply

