Jesus was a community organizer, Pilate was a governor.

God bless Jon Stewart.

Of course, it’s not like the right wing has ever been good at keeping their stories straight. Knocking ‘community organizers’ while waving their little ‘service’ placards was for me the defining hypocricy of this year’s Republican Convention, much as the ‘purple heart band-aids’ were in 2004. Sure, there was the delegate walking around with the alligator-eating-Obama hat, and ‘alligator bait‘ is an old racist term for African-American children, but it doesn’t have that same ‘oomph’. A convention hall of dittoheads holding up signs that say ‘service’ while gut-laughing as Rudy Giuliani mincingly mocked ‘community organizers’ is just breathtaking in ironic splendor. The alligator hat is comparitively subtle in its nasty ugliness in that it hearkens back to older racist imagery. Most of the conventioneers probably just thought it was a reference to Obama losing in Florida or some other bizarre political message. The man wearing it must think himself incredibly clever and subversive, much as I did when I managed to get the incredibly offensive name of my band entered as one of my ‘activites’ next to my photo in my high school yearbook. My excuse is that I was seventeen years old. The guy in the hat looks old enough to know better.

*UPDATE-Regarding the title of this post: I found a post called ‘Jesus was NOT a community organizer!‘ that links to this post. This is my response to that author.
Hi.
I’m one of the people who pointed out that Jesus was a community organizer and that Pilate was a governor. My reason for making this analogy is that the governor who was mocking Obama’s community service makes her Christianity a big part of her political message. Obama spent three years doing difficult and thankless work here on the streets of Chicago that nobody who was mocking it at the Republican Convention would have been able to do for a day. My point in the title of this post is that if the Republicans want to use overt religious talk in their campaign it can backfire against them. In the Gospels, there was a governor, and there was a guy who spent three years doing difficult and thankless work in his community.

If you think that I’m wiki-izing the story, then let me point out that the ‘community’ that called for the crucifixion of Christ were the people of Jerusalem, where Jesus only spent a week. He caused quite a ruckus there when he threw the moneylenders from the place and gave the prophesy that Jerusalem would be torn down. It shouldn’t be a surprise that the leader of these ’stupid little marches’ (yes, I’ve poked around some of your other posts) wouldn’t be so popular with the people who had their daily lives and businesses disrupted by his activities. The governor in that story ignored his conscience to placate the unwashed mob.
I think my analogy stands.
-Winston Delgado

Leave a Reply

