Georgia on my mind

I think it’s fair to say the Russians are targeting journalists. Watch both videos. The ‘bullets fly in news crew’s car’ is even more harrowing. It’s clear the Russians don’t want people to know what they’re doing in Georgia. Georgia’s President Saakashvilli was justified in his critical remarks about Western leaders as far as I’m concerned. Bush’s remarks about the ‘Cold War being over’ and how ‘Free and prosperous societies on Russia’s borders will advance Russia’s interests by serving as sources of stability and economic opportunity.’ are not incorrect, but the Russians don’t see it that way. Putin is not the man Bush thought he was when he said, ‘I looked the man in the eye. I found him to be very straightforward and trustworthy. We had a very good dialogue. I was able to get a sense of his soul; a man deeply committed to his country and the best interests of his country.’ seven years ago. This former KGB man is capable of assasination and terrorism to achieve his ends. The Russian government is being run by a popular criminal strongman who does seem to be looking to revive the old Russian Empire. And yes, I do realize that by saying that I’m agreeing with John McCain, but as my regular readers know I am no slave to any political ideology. While I hope for the best in that this current cease fire holds and Russia begins to behave in a civilized manner, I think we should plan for the worst because I see no reason for Putin to back down from his point of view.

Leave a Reply

