Live! With Miss Mayweather!

On Monday night some huge storms rolled through Chicago and teh internets were completely fracked. We just got back online now. Today I’m blogging live while hanging out with Miss Mayweather.

*******

So, it’s a beautiful day here in Chicago. I’m upstairs in Mister and Missus Mayweather’s living room full of dappled sunlight streaming through the trees outside. We have the TV on in the background. Miss Mayweather’s idea is that we’d watch daytime telly and do a social critique of the commercials. I think she just wants an excuse to make me watch ‘All My Children’ but it’s as good a prompt as any. Besides, I just witnessed a particularly repellent ad for penis enhancement, and that doesn’t happen often enough. That ‘smiling Bob’ jackass is dressed as Santa Claus at an office party. All of the women are squirming in line to sit on his lap. It’s not that I’m a prude or that I think everything has to be child-friendly, but should a man dressed as Santa be hawking hard-on pills at one-thirty in the afternoon?

*******

This morning Miss Mayweather and I took the El down to Daley Plaza for the farmer’s market. I picked up a lovely dried fruit mix, cherries, and several Saturn peaches, which are an amazingly delicious heirloom variety of peach. So very sweet with a hint of almond bitter, abundantly juicy, and with a skin so fine you don’t need to peel it. Miss Mayweather bought a jar of Four Seasons Gourmet Foods ‘Rosy Rasbperry  Vinegar’ from the guy who made it. He let us sample some and we were sold. You never tasted a vinegar so delicious. We asked him if it was available in stores and he said Whole Foods just turned him down. They are insane. The label on the bottle gives a website of www.fourseasonsgourmetfoods.com, but no site comes up for it. The address on the label is ‘Four Seasons Gourmet Foods, Glenview, Il, 60025’.

*******

Gargunza just sent around a really interesting internet test a few minutes ago. Try it. My results put me on the political compass at:
Economic Left/Right: -4.12
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -6.05
Which put me slightly to the right of Ghandi and as libertarian as the Dalai Lama. The classical composers page is funny if you appreciate classical music.

*******

A few months ago I wrote a post that mentioned a racist website. I hesitate to mention it again because I keep getting hits from searches for ‘n*gg*rmania.com’, ‘why is n*gg*rmania.com down?’, and such in addition to multiple variations of the key offending word in the previous phrases. I find this unsettling, but it shouldn’t be unsurprising. The flame of racism is rekindling with no small heat in America these days.

*******

Tonight Miss Mayweather made an amazing dinner; an improvised risotto with chicken, asparagus, button and dried chantarelle mushrooms reconstituted in chicken stock, a mixed assortment of heirloom cherry and plum tomatoes that we got at the farmer’s market this morning along with an Amish garlic cheese that formed a sauce with the white wine and chicken stock. Garlic, leeks, pine nuts, parsley, margarine, summer savory, salt, and pepper gave flavor and body to the meal. We must eat to live and therefore should appreciate, savor, and give our attention to every meal we take. It is being mindless about food that causes us to eat ourselves into diabetes and worse. This mindlessness can come from emotional distress, bad habits formed in ignorance, or any number of intimate personal reasons it is presumptuous to make assumptions about; but it is self-destructive in any case. It is what we ignore that kills us.

*******
Check it out, it’s groovycool-
Devendra Banhart – Carmensita (featuring Natalie Portman)

2 Responses to “Live! With Miss Mayweather!”

  1. The Prof Says:

    Hmmm…

    Economic Left/Right: -4.97
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -7.12

    So I’m apparently slightly to the right of Nelson Mandela and around the same level of libertarian as said Dalai Lama and, apparently, Winston Delgado. Good company. (I have a feeling my numbers are slightly different than yours because I do, in fact, believe the death penalty should still be an option in the most serious cases. In fact, in certain instances I wouldn’t mind administering it myself, but that’d be exceptionally cruel and highly unusual, so we can’t go there.)

    Aurora and I have reached our destination and have, more or less, completed unpacking. Should I miss Wisconsin I only need look out my living room window and I can see it over the river.

    And I still want to know what you thought of “The Dark Knight.”

  2. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

