post 108

It’s been a week short of a year since I started blogging here and I finally just got around to customizing a bit. I’m satisfied with how the site has been doing in terms of getting comments and traffic from people I don’t know which is to say that at least a few people are reading it every day so I’m not entirely pissing into the wind here. But even if it was just the four most vocal regulars reading it I’d still do it. 

The shuffle just brought up Duran Duran’s ‘Too Much Information’. There’s is a great synchronious significance to this seemingly random event but I don’t know what it is exactly. I do know that I kinda am in the mood for Duran Duran, which I haven’t been for I don’t know how long.

I thought this was supercool for several reasons, not the least of which is that it’s exactly the sort of thing I’ve always wanted to see but was one of many things my science teachers always told me we never would in my lifetime. In this case, an accurate map of the galaxy based on actual observations is the impossible image beyond that link. I distinctly remember being told as little as twenty years ago that black holes were purely theoretical and it was unimaginable that we would ever confirm the existence of such bizarre objects. Here’s a movie of stars whirling around Sagittarius A, the black hole at the center of our galaxy. Turns out those bizarre objects are the engines of galactic evolution. Living in the future is cool.

Visited with my nephews today. They fill me with delight and joy.

We’ve been having terrible weather here. Last night tornadoes cut through the area.

There’s a great post over at Orcinus from June 1st called ‘Tony Perkins and the Phineas Priests’. It’s a disturbing look at Christian Fundamentalist Terrorism in America. The whole series of posts from that week is on the subject. As we come closer to the possiblility of a black man becoming President look for hearing more from these people-you’ve heard of their crimes before but the perpetrators have always been prosecuted and portrayed as lone nuts. They name themselves from a verse in Numbers 25 which they use to justify their various crimes, including the murder of mixed race couples. At least Al Qaeda wants to take humanity back to the Dark Ages; these guys want to live in the Bronze Age.

‘Supper’s Ready’ by Genesis is playing. Dang, but that’s some good prog-rock on a rainy Sunday night. Songs about a super-sonic scientist who is a Guaranteed Eternal Sanctuary Man with a spoonful of miracle, no less, just seem to fit the evening. I just can’t help but wonder a prayer capsule is, how you activate it, and what happens when you do.

I found myself re-reading ‘Restaurant at the End of the Universe’ yesterday and I must say I never appreciated how good a writer Douglas Adams was. It’s so difficult to write consistently funny prose that most writers don’t even try. There’s a handful of novels that made me laugh out loud really hard and Adams has at least two or three on that list. ‘Good Omens’ by Neil Gaiman is there as well. I also loved ‘Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging’ by Louise Rennison. Funny stuff.

 I’ve gone and had a sandwich, fed the cat, checked the weather, and ‘Supper’s Ready’ is still playing. Gotta love the 70’s. Peter Garbriel dressed as a flower wailing about Pythagoras and angels in the sun; what else do you need? My God, it shuffled to ‘Lamb Lies Down on Broadway’. It’s like living with Lily again. What the hell kind of shuffle is this? There are over 7500 songs in there and I get two Genesis cuts in a row. I’m actually kind of in the mood for this, though. I might just turn the shuffle off and play the whole record through. I could really stand to hear ‘Carpet Crawlers’ and ‘The Grand Parade of Lifeless Packaging’.

This is too much information, I think.

WD

4 Responses to “post 108”

  1. Well I’m going to grab some Phillip Glass and think of you!! 🙂
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Actually I had a dream about you last night. We were going into business together selling people bed-coffins. Instead of the regular depressing coffin, loved ones could get buried in a bed with special sheets with your favorite design, logo, or colors. You & I were so jazzed about making lots of money from this. Our first “display” model had Star Wars sheets. I woke up saying “What the hell?!?!” Somehow, this could tie in to the Taxidermy Grandma story…

  2. Lily-
    Don’t give people any ideas. Right now there’s somebody reading that who is thinking ‘I totally want to be buried in a bed with Star Wars sheets’.

  3. The Prof Says:

    Master Winston,

    Congratulations on your almost-anniversary at wordpress.

    We, too, got hit pretty hard–the Fox is flooding like crazy, with more of the flow from up north on its way. And we spent two hours on Saturday afternoon huddling in the basement to avoid the tornado that, thankfully, passed over Waukesha without touching down. But the air conditioner’s finally up–finished the job literally five minutes before the sirens started.

    I had a dream about you last night too. You were wearing a cowboy hat and a toolbelt and…well, TMI again.

    And I, for one, would like to be preserved in a giant orange Jell-O mold at my visitation, so mourners can parade by me and give me a little shake so they can pretend I’m dancing.

    Blessin’s ‘n such…

  4. Prof-
    I wanna be blown up.

Leave a Reply

