iron man…

…was amazing. I have always loved old shellhead, and Downey brought Tony Stark to vivid life. It is immensely gratifying to see the superheroes brought to the screen as vividly as I imagined those stories when I read them for the first time. I won’t spoil the ultimate ending of the film save to say that there is an excellent moment after the credits that is well worth waiting for. It elicited cheers from our group, and I think I was actually pumping my hands in the air. There have been several variations and retcons of Iron Man over the years (as with all the superheroes) and ‘Iron Man’ is an artful telling of the origin of the character in the same way as ‘Batman Begins’ distilled a definitive portrait of that character. Downey and the writers made sense of how this alcoholic genius playboy started playing superhero and it is very easy to suspend your disbelief for the ride. What is especially terrific about ‘Iron Man’ is that Marvel’s never been able to bring him to film and although he is popular he isn’t a Spider Man; yet this a great movie all in it’s own right even if you think superheroes are stupid and so benefits immensely from not having preconcieved expectations. Also, until CGI was perfected there was no way to convincingly portray the armored hero in action-it’s much easier to put a guy in tights and hang him from a wire. But this Iron Man is utterly convincing and breathtaking, especially when he flies. See it in the theaters.

Also, the trailers were pretty cool. The new Hulk movie looks like it has potential and Indiana Jones is looking badass. I missed the Dark Knight trailer because I was retrieving one of my charges who missed the van ride to the theater. However it all worked out in the end. There were huge storms raging while we watched the film and we walked outside to the dramatic backsides of cumulonimbus clouds piled across the eastern sky while the sunset cut through new storms coming from the west. We had a lovely dinner at Steak n’ Shake graced by an enormous rainbow. 

‘Battlestar Galactica’ and ‘Lost’ were both amazing this week. I don’t want to spoil anything for Violet so I will post my fanboy ravings about these shows over at ‘Port Awesome’.

I talked to Kenny today. He sounded magnificent. He has a long way to go but I felt much better after talking to him. My Gramma is in the hospital but hopefully will be home tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

